Forgot your password?

The ECREA Bureau can seek the collaboration of other Executive Board members and regular members on all of its activities. These collaborations can be on an individual basis or through the establishment of Task Forces. The establishment of a Task Force (TF) requires the approval of the Executive Board.

TF name: Mapping Changes in Research Support in Media and Communications across Europe
Period of activity: March 2015 – November 2016
Objective: This task force aims to address concerns within the field of media and communications of shifts in funding or support that may be conditioning the nature of such research undertaken across and within European countries. It will seek to inform future ECREA policy and discussion about research development, assisting liaison between ECREA and European research agencies and compiling relevant information so as to advise and deliver recommendations as appropriate to the ECREA Executive Board. These will be designed to assist the EB in lobbying strategies and policy interventions at both European and national levels.
Members: Peter Golding (UK), Chair, Kirsten Drotner (Denmark), Slavko Splichal (Slovenia), Christina Holtz-Bacha (Germany), Helena Sousa (Portugal), Paolo Mancini (Italy), EB liaison officer: Claudia Alvares (ECREA President)
TF name: Mapping Higher Education in European Communication and Media Studies
Period of activity: October 2012 - now
Objective: This Task Force proposal was initiated by the FONTA research group, which successfully established the Observatory of Communication Studies in Spain. Its main aim is to create a network of contacts and explore the curricula of the various faculties and departments of communication. The proposed ECREA Mapping Higher Education Task Force would expand the effort to other European countries within the EHEA, invite scholars and researchers to collaborate in the project and encourage the establishment of several observatories and coordinate them. The Task Force objectives are as follows: (1) to coordinate the exercise of mapping universities that offer communication and media studies degrees in Europe, following the model developed in Spain (this includes coordinating the work of national coordinators, and assisting in developing a platform with a sufficient level of details, including the number of public and private universities that offer communication and media studies, name of the degrees, titles awarded, curricula, system of delivery, either adapted or not to the EHEA, departments delivering it etc.); (2) to coordinate endeavours of providing an overview of similarities and differences between communication and media studies in Europe; and (3) to initiate collaboration between universities offering communication education in the EU by providing information useful to organize joint initiatives, student or staff mobility etc.
Members: Natalia Abuín, Alberto Garcia (co-chair), Alenka Jelen (co-chair), Ancizar Narvaez, Liina Puustinen, George Terzis, Einar Thorsen, Elena Valentini, Hipólito Vivar.
TF name: Quality in Publishing Task Force
Period of activity: May 2008 - now
Objective: to reflect on the very notion of "quality" in the area of communication research and education. At a time of scarce resources for education and research, institutions, teams and individuals are ever more subject to a diversity of evaluation procedures. Be it to publish, present in a conference, obtain a grant or fund a project, be it to maintain or amend an academic curriculum or harmonise higher education, the processes, criteria and actors mobilised to evaluate the quality of research and education are feeding fierce debates. Communication research and education is no exception.
Members: Nico Carpentier, John Downing, Cees Hamelink, François Heinderyckx, Denis McQuail, Kaarle Nordenstreng, Linda Putnam, Jan Servaes.
TF name: joint ALAIC-ECREA Task Force
Period of activity: October 2010 - now
Objective: to investigate and develop a closer collaboration between both organisations. ALAIC and ECREA recognize that regional diversity is a significant asset to our field, but at the same time we believe that we should, through the organisation of creative dialogues and exchanges, avoid counter-productive processes of intellectual isolationism or hierarchization. ALAIC and ECREA will contribute to this dialogue by emphasising the regional specificity and contextual embeddedness of theories, methodologies and research traditions in Latin-America and Europe, critically comparing the strengths and weaknesses, the abundances and gaps, and then articulating these differences as opportunities for the intellectual enrichment of both academic communities.
Members: Miguel Vicente-Mariño (co-chair), Uwe Hasebrink, François Heinderycxk, Nico Carpentier, Leonardo Custudio, Claudia Alvares, Cesar Bolano, Eliseo Colon, Fernando Oliveira Paulino (co-chair), Patria Roman, Lucrecia Escudero-Chauvel.
TF name: ECREA's CEE Task Force
Period of activity: October 2008 - November 2009
Objective: the CEE Task Force was mandated by the ECREA Bureau to advise the Bureau on the strategies to be implemented by ECREA to increase the presence of CEE scholars and institutions in ECREA (at all organisational levels), and to increase ECREA's role in stimulating the intellectual exchange between scholars from the CEE and other parts of Europe as well as within CEE. More specifically, the Task Force wrote a short position paper on: 1/the desirability to establish an ECREA CEE Network; 2/the need for additional strategies that should be implemented to achieve the above described general objectives and how to achieve them.
> Read the CEE Task Force position paper (requires login to the ECREA Intranet).
Members: Beata Klimkiewicz (chair), Tomas Trampota (secretary), Jan Jirak, Boguslawa Dobek-Ostrowska, Marusa Pusnik, Aukse Balcytiene, Epp Lauk, Pal Tamas, Maria Heller, Miroljub Radojkovic, Nico Carpentier (Executive Board Liaison Person).
BecomeMember2 Mailinglist